Our Initiatives

Fulfilling the goals of our mission, Education Legacy Fund actively and annually pursues the causes
of excellence and professionalism in the field of interior design through a number of avenues, among them are:


Celebrate the Students!

In coordination with the faculty and administration of the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) recognized curricula in the New York Metropolitan area, ELF awards a scholarship to one student matriculating from the freshman to sophomore class, sophomore to junior class, and junior to senior class each year at each of the following institutions:

  • Fashion Institute of Technology
  • New York Institute of Technology
  • New York School of Interior Design
  • Pratt Institute
  • School of Visual Arts



Endowments have generously been made to the ELF Scholarship Fund
honoring the following individuals:

  • James Druckman by Rachel D. Kohler and Kohler Interiors Group
  • Magda Bierman by Linda Blair, ASID and William Doescher
  • Norbert Ratliff by Robert Longo, Fine Arts Furniture and friends of Norbert Ratliff
  • Henriette Nathan, ASID through a generous bequest of Henriette Nathan, ASID

ELF Horace Haveameyer III STATE of DESIGN

Education Legacy Fund established an annual conversation and discourse pertaining to design, honoring the extraordinary lifelong dedication and commitment to all things design of the late Founder and Publisher of METROPOLIS, in October, 2007. At Horace Havemeyer’s direction, the annual series was renamed ELF Horace Havemeyer III State of Design in 2011.

The State of Design conversations and discourses have included:

  • 2013
    A conversation with Hugh Hardy, FAIA moderated by Susan Szenasy, Editor-in-Chief and now publisher, METROPOLIS at Steelcase New York.
  • 2012
    A conversation with Ruth Finkelstein and Katie Salen moderated by Susan Szenasy at Steelcase New York.
  • 2011
    A conversation with Michael Murphy and Tim Brown moderated by Susan Szenasy at Steelcase, New York.
  • 2010
    A conversation with Valerie Fletcher moderated by Susan Szenasy at International Contemporary Furniture Fair at Jacob Javits Center.
  • 2009
    A conversation with James Ludwig moderated by Susan Szenasy at ICFF.
  • 2008
    A conversation with Fritz Haeg moderated by Susan Szenasy at ICFF.

Gala Events

Benefiting all of the ELF Initiatives

  • 2012
    Honoring Adriana Scalamandre Bitter, Christopher Hyland and Vladimir Kagan at Carlton Hobbs LLC, in the mansion designed by John Russell Pope for Virginia Graham Fair Vanderbilt. see photos from the events
  • 2010
    Honoring Museum of the City of New York, Peter Gluck, Ivan Hageman and East Harlem School at Museum of the City of New York. see photos from the events
  • 2007
    Honoring Horace Havemeyer III at New York Academy of Sciences at Seven World Trade Center.
    see photos from the events
  • 2006
    Honoring James P. Druckman at The Rubin Museum of Art. see photos from the events